Intoducing the new student senate



This year’s Associated Students of College of the Desert (ASCOD) Student Senate consists of President – Jeffery Salas, Vice President – Luis Castellanos, Officer of Academic Affairs – Sarah Latimore, Officer of Communications – Yulissa Hernandez, Independent Senators – Liam Withrow, Andie Sherin, Jessa Domingsil, and Nicholas Meade, Student Trustee – Isiah Estrada and Adviser Carlos Maldonado.

The ASCOD Student Senate is the primary representative of the student body. Each member is allowed to serve a term of one year in a position, and three years within the Student Senate. Members of the Student Senate also have access to the Student Senate Office which is located on the north side of the Dining Hall building.

President of the ASCOD Student Senate, Jeffery Salas, said that “The Student Senate strives to represent the opinion of the students to the faculty, staff and administration, as well as the college community and state legislature to promote the general welfare of the student body.” President Salas also stated that this year’s goals for the Student Senate are to “increase awareness of helpful programs and services that are provided to our students and to increase our communication between students for more direct representation.”

Officer of Academic Affairs, Sarah Latimore, stated that, “There is a wonderful sense of comradery within ASCOD. Although we all have our separate duties, consultation with one another is always dependable and welcoming. I know that if I ever have questions regarding my responsibilities, I can ask and receive patient, well-informed guidance. Everyone is eager to help one another and give respectful opinions freely.” Latimore continued to say that the job does require a “significant dedication of time and work,” however, she never feels overwhelmed.


Leave a Reply