Roadrunners bring honors back to the desert




With a 63-37 loss to East Los Angeles Huskies in the Patriotic Bowl, the Roadrunners season may have ended on a sour note, but they also were awarded for their efforts this season.


Besides bringing home another conference title, Coach Jack Steptoe was award Co-Coach of the Year, sharing the award with Ed Carberry, coach of Southwestern College.


Sophomore cornerback Corey Dalton was awarded with Defensive Player of the Year, he led all Southern California junior colleges with 10 interceptions on the season. He also received All-Conference First Team honors.


Dalton was joined on the first team by freshman offensive lineman Eric Kareem, sophomore wide receiver Myles Goulbourne, sophomore Running back Anthony Ellison, and freshman defensive end Romello Hamilton.


Freshman running back Kamone Best was selected to be in the All-Conference second team. He wasn’t alone with freshman defensive tackle Robbie Polimeni, sophomore linebacker Brayden Bailey, and sophomore return specialist Reginald Macon also selected to the second team.


With back to back successful seasons and great depth at key positions, Coach Steptoe and the Roadrunners are looking forward to regrouping and making a charge for a third straight conference title next season.

Interested in playing football or any other sport for College of the Desert? Visit to fill out a form and you might just find yourself playing here.


Corey Dalton poses before a recent game. Photo Courtesy of COD Athletics

Leave a Reply